Nikos Kazantzakis
Writer born in Iraklion
Brief Chronology of Nikos Kazantzakis Life
1883Nikos Kazantzakis born in Heraklion, Crete.
1902 - 1906Kazantzakis studies Law in Athens.
1907 - 1909Studies in Paris, where he is influenced by his tutor Henri Bergson
1914Meets Angelos Sikelianos, with whom he travels to Mount Athos and elsewhere in Greece.
1918 - 1919Travels to Switzerland and Russia as a senior civil servant, assisting in the repatriation of Greeks from the Caucasus.
1922Lives in Vienna and Berlin.
1924Returns to Greece and to Crete.
1925 - 1929Makes three journeys to Russia.
1932 - 1933Travels to Spain for several months.
1935Travels to China and Japan.
1936Reports on the Spanish Civil War as a foreign correspondent for the Kathimerini newspaper.
1939Is invited by the British Council to England, where he spends the first few months of World War Two.
1940Returns to Greece and lives on Aegina for the duration of the War and the German occupation.
1946Leaves Greece for England, staying temporarily in Cambridge. In September 1946 Kazantzakis settles in Paris, where he works for a short time as a literary advisor to UNESCO .
1948Settles in Antibes in the South of France. While continuing to write, he takes a keen interest in the numerous translations and publications of his works around the world.
1957Travels to China, where he falls ill. Returns to Europe (Copenhagen) and is subsequently transferred to Freiburg University Hospital, where he dies on 26th October 1957.

Chronology of Nikos Kazantzakis Major Works
1927 Askitiki (or Salvatores Dei) A concise philosophical text, in which Kazantzakis expresses his metaphysical beliefs.
1927 - 1941Travels Several volumes of the author's reflections on travels in Spain, Italy, Sinai, Japan, England, Russia, Jerusalem and Cyprus.
1929 - 1938 Odyssey An ambitious work divided into twenty-four "Rhapsodies" comprising a total of 33 333 lines of iambic decapentasyllable verse.
1938 - 1948A series of plays on themes from ancient and modern history: Prometheus, Capodistrias, Kouros (or Theseus), Nikiforos Fokas, Constantine Palaeologos, Christopher Columbus, Sodom and Gomorrah, Buddha, Melissa.
1946 - 1957Kazantzakis turns to writing novels, in an effort to communicate with the wider public.
Zorba the Greek (1946)
Christ Recrucified (1948)
Freedom and Death (1950)
The Last Temptation (1951)
God's Pauper (1953)
Report to Greco
(published posthumously in 1961)

The Divine Comedy (Dante).

Navigate | Explore
Contact Us
Your gateway to Crete
©interkriti.org 1996-2017