# # 
Crete is one of the 13 regions of Greece. Crete region general secretariat (Γενική Γραμματεία Περιφέρειας Κρήτης - www.crete-region.gr) is based in Iraklion (Heraklion - Ηράκλειον).
Crete is divided to four prefectures (Hania, Rethymnon, Heraklion and Lassithi) and 70 municipalities.
A former division of the island in 20 counties (or districts or provinces) is not any more administratevely in use, although it is very important in terms of history and culture. (That is the reason why this division is used on this website.)
Prefecture and municipal authorities are elected by the people while the secretary general is appointed by the state.
Crete has 16 representatives in the Greek parliament (total 300).

Contact Us
© 2024 interkriti.org